News arrow Cricket arrow North Lancs League arrow League stalwart calls it a day
League stalwart calls it a day PDF Print E-mail
Written by John Walsh   
Monday, 02 November 2015


ONE of the North Lancashire League’s stalwarts Colin Bickerstaffe has stood down from his post of secretary.


He has served for 19 years as League secretary and prior to that he was assistant secretary, also for 19 years.


Colin’s association with the League began in 1945 when he played tor Haverigg "A" and he was there until 1953, except for two years National Service in the R.A.F..


He played for the West Coast Tannery from 1954 to 1956, and finally for Millom Ironworks from 1957 to 1968, when the Ironworks closed down.


He then umpired in the League for 42 years, serving as Umpires Federation secretary for 25 years, and fulfilled his aim to still be umpiring when he was 80,

so if he was accused in a game of being both deaf and blind he had a perfect excuse.


At the recent League Dinner, League Chairman, Gary Postlethwaite made a presentation to Colin to which all the clubs had contributed and thanked him for his work for, and long service to the League and to cricket generally.


The draws for the Cricket League's four knock-out cup competitions were made at Saturday's A.G.M.


                                                                           HIGSON CUP 2016


 Round One

   Round Two


1 Wigton v Furness

A    1 v 8


2 Whitehaven v Carlisle


       A v D

3 Millom v Cleator

B     6 v 4


4 Keswick v Cockermouth


       C v B

5 bye  Lindal Moor

C     3 v 5


6 bye  Dalton



7 bye  Haverigg

D    7 v 2


8 bye  Workington






                                SOWERBY CUP 2016      For Division One Clubs only


Round One


A  Ulverston v Seascale

     A v D

B  Haverigg v Lindal Moor


C  Workington II v Carlisle

     B v C

D  Kirkby v Millom





                            MARSDEN CUP 2016      For Division Two Clubs only


Round One


A  Hawcoat Pk. v Cleator II

     D v C

B  Egremont v Lindal Moor II


C  Cockermouth II v Dalton II

     A v B

D  Vickerstown v Furness II





                                 VIGODNY CUP  2016      For Division Three Clubs only


Round One


A  Ulverston "A" v Windscale

     C v A

B  Whitehaven "A" v Haverigg "A"


C  Hawcoat Pk. "A" v Millom "A"

     B v D

D  Vickerstown "A" v Egremont "A"





Bookmark with: what are these?

< Prev   Next >