News arrow Rugby Union arrow League Rugby arrow Cockermouth celebrate successful season
Cockermouth celebrate successful season PDF Print E-mail
Written by John Walsh   
Thursday, 04 May 2017

Rugby Volunteers.jpgCockermouth rugby union club held a very successful Ladies Day, which was followed 24 hours later by the presentation of awards.

Ladies Day was very well received with more volunteers supporting the organisation of the day; record numbers in attendance; excellent local business support and a good game of rugby between Cockermouth and Wigton.

The club’s memorial to ‘Jinky’ Jackson was also opened by his family members.

The match was sponsored by John Cusack, who in his playing career represented both clubs, and it proved to be a very physical contest. There were a number of contact injuries throughout due to the physicality of the tackles.

There were also a few phases of excellent rugby from both teams but Cockermouth looked a little more dangerous with the ball. Try scorers for the hosts in a 15-12 win were man of the match Luke Armstrong, Charles Van De Bosche and Adam Cavanagh.Long service Highton.jpg

At the conclusion of the event £1100 was raised with proceeds going to the Great North Air Ambulance and Cockermouth RUFC Player/Coach Development.

On a glorious bank holiday Sunday the whole of the Cockermouth club came together to celebrate the success of all the age groups and thank the various volunteers who make it all happen. 

Club president David Coulthard and family were in attendance to present all the mini/midi, junior and girls teams their medals and the individual winners. 

Club sponsor Kenny Routledge then presented all the club volunteers with their recognition certificates from the RFU. 

A fun game of rugby was then played between the sharks (older/experienced players) v the bulls (younger and quicker).  This was an entertaining game with the Sharks using all their years playing experience to win the game by ten tries to nine.

The senior presentations followed with the Bill McDowell Memorial Trophy presented to Adam Brough by John McDowell for Spectators Player of the Year; Players’ Player of the Year presented to Ryan Hetherington by David Coulthard; Young Player of the Year presented to John Irving by Kenny Routledge; Coaches Player of the Year presented to McKenzie Jenkin by Chris Wright and Top Try Scorer presented to Brad Taylor by Connie Wright.

Adam Brough.jpgStefan Highton was also presented with a long service award in recognition of his long and successful association with the club.

Having made his senior debut in 1986 when Cockermouth were playing higher up the leagues he has continued to represent the club over these many years.

Coach Chris Wright said: “Stefan is still an ever-present in the senior squad and fully committed to the game and the training required. He is a credit to the game and deserved this award which was sponsored by Cumbria RFU.”

In the photos club sponsor Ken Routledge is pictured with all the club volunteers who received special certificates; veteran Stefan Highton with head coach Chris Wright after his long service award; John McDowell and Adam Brough, winner of the Bill McDowell Memorial Trophy and Chris Wright again with McKenzie Jenkin, the coaches player of the year.

Mckenzie Jenkin.jpg 

Bookmark with: what are these?

Next >